Blocked Out Dates

Created on:
Updated on:

When your campus is closed or a room needs maintenance, you can block out dates by creating events to ensure you don't book anything during those times.

Tip

Use an event template to make it easier to reserve the rooms and resources.

Create Tags

Create tags based on reasons the campus might be blocked out.

blocked_out_tags.png

Once you have tags, you can add them to your events.

Create Block Out Events

Create an event that will act as a placeholder for the date(s) you want to block out.

Add the appropriate tag to the event.

event_modal_blocked_out_tag_arrow.png

Add Main Rooms

Once you're taken to the event page, you can add the main rooms to ensure no one requests to schedule them.

rooms_.png

If someone requests to schedule the rooms for an event, they'll create a conflict, and your Conflict Resolver can reject the request due to the block out.

Hide an Event

Some events don't need to be shared on Church Center or your public calendars, such as a staff meeting, an AA meeting, or a wedding. For these kinds of cases, you can hide the event.

Check out this clip from Planning Center University.

Hide From Church Center

Go to the Settings of the event to hide the event from the Calendar on Church Center.

visibility_number.png

Tip

Events created through an event request form are hidden on Church Center until they're manually published, regardless of their approval status.

  1. See if the event is on Church Center at a glance.

  2. Change the visibility from Published to Hidden.

Hide From Shared iCal Feeds, Kiosks, and Widgets

From the event, click Edit.

If you only want to hide this specific instance from the calendar, choose This date. To hide all instances of the event, click This and future dates.

edit_dropdown_arrow.png

Disable the calendar icon next to each time in the Schedule to hide the event from your shared public iCal feeds and widgets. Disable the kiosk icon next to times and resources you do not want to display on public kiosks.

Caution

Disabling the share icons in an event's Schedule will not remove it from shared calendars that are filtered to include the Full schedule .

hide_from_calendar.gif

Click Save changes, and the time/event will be hidden from your public times shared calendars, kiosks, and widgets.

Tip

Events created through an event request form are hidden on shared calendars, kiosks, and widgets until they're approved.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful