Permissions in Calendar

Created on:
Updated on:

Each person you add to Calendar can have access to events, rooms, resources, and editing people. To view someone's permissions, go to their profile from the People page. If the person isn't listed in the People page, add the person.

Important

Only Organization Administrators can see information for people across Planning Center products. In Calendar, assign the appropriate permission level for the specific person accessing Calendar.

Check out this clip from Planning Center University.

Share these articles with people based on their roles in your church to help them get the most out of Calendar:

Tip

Not everyone with permission will receive notifications. If you want someone to receive notifications about changes to events, they need to be in an approval group or subscribed to the event's activity.

Roles in Calendar

Permissions are the general levels of access you can give a person in Calendar. These are managed in a person's profile.

permissions.jpeg
  • Organization Administrators have access to everything. Only Organization Administrators can enable or disable feeds from other products, create event templates, import iCal feeds, and manage campus tags.

  • Event Administrators can create, edit, or delete all events and event request forms.

  • Event Creators can create new events, request rooms and resources, and edit the events that they own. They can view all event request forms and submissions.

  • Editors can create, edit, and delete, according to the type of editor they are.

  • Viewers can view anything according to the type of viewer they are, but they are unable to create, delete, or edit anything.

Important

People Editors can give themselves higher permission levels in events, rooms, and resources.

. Event Roles

  • Event Owners can make changes to their events, and they receive all communication about the event. Each event and event request form is required to have one Event Owner.

  • Event Managers can make changes to their events. They are also automatically subscribed to the activity feed.

  • Event Subscribers have chosen to subscribe to notifications about activity in a specific event.

. Approval Roles

  • Conflict resolvers can approve or reject any booking conflicts that arise when scheduling events. There should be only a few of these people in any organization. Organization Administrators are conflict resolvers by default, but Event Administrators can also be conflict resolvers. Uncheck the box in their Calendar profile to remove them from the Conflict Resolver role.

    Check out this clip from Planning Center University.

  • Approvers are members of at least one approval group and can approve or reject all requests that their approval group is assigned to.

Filter People by Permissions

From the People page, you can see each person's permission by customizing the view.

view permissions.png

To change which columns are included in the table, expand the columns menu and check the boxes next to the columns you want to see.

people_filter_toggle_arrow.png

Remove Permissions

If you no longer want someone to have access to Calendar, you can remove their permissions.

Tip

Make sure to remove them from their approval groups and designate new event owners for any events they manage. Check out this guide for tips on making the transition process as smooth as possible: Staff Transitions.

When you remove a person's permissions in Calendar:

  • They'll be removed from any events they're the Event Owner or Manager. By default, the next person listed on the People page will be made the new event owner, unless a new event owner has been designated beforehand.

  • The person will be removed from any approval groups they were in. If they are the only person in an approval group, the approval group will be deleted.

When you're ready to remove their access to Calendar, go to their profile and select the Remove permissions button.

remove_permissions_arrow.png

You'll be asked to confirm that you want to remove access to Calendar for this person.

remove_permissions_modal.png

Once you select Yes, remove permissions:

  • They will no longer be able to log in to Calendar. They will still be able to log in to any other products they have access to in your Planning Center account until their permissions are removed in those products. They will not be notified that their permissions were removed.

  • The person will be removed from the Calendar People page, but their profile will remain active in your People database. A People administrator can set their profile to "inactive" in People, if needed.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful